Sarahel2's Blog

February 13, 2014

Snow Days: When You’re Alone

Filed under: Uncategorized — plantwriter @ 4:39 pm

What do you do on your snow days? As a newlywed, there’s only so much you can do while trapped inside.  Unlike moms who have their kids running around, trying to keep them occupied, I’m trying to keep myself occupied.  And this just before Valentine’s Day too!photo 1 (4)

You always think it will be easy until it actually happens to you.  I mean take me for example.  With an hour long commute as a high school teacher, I’m always begging for more time in my nights.  Just another hour for the gym.  Or another hour to read a book or get the laundry done.  But then it happens! A snow storm that hasn’t hit the Carolinas in ten years.  And that’s when you’re inside—for days!

Drive If You Dare

Drive If You Dare

I think of my single friends and empty nesters as well.  It’s not as easy as you think being independent but feeling alone.  I think of myself and how I go stir crazy.  Yet there are ways to fill your days productively and still enjoy a fulfilled life.  I’m not literally alone because my husband comes home at night; but those who have lived through medical school know that when he comes home, he’s not fully home, and I still must be independent most nights while he is locked away studying.

Here are some of my productive time fillers for snow days and study nights:

Laundry– And this time I loved folding the clothes because they were warm! (I normally hate this particular necessity in life.)

Kitchen-I deep cleaned the sink and the fridge; I will be doing the oven tomorrow.

Bathroom-Why not disinfect it while I have the time?

Write-I have been wanting to blog more often, and now I suddenly have more time.

Organize-I have been meaning to go through my jewelry ever since we moved to South Carolina.  Six months later, I may finally get to it.  You have your personal area that you’ve been meaning to get to I’m sure.

Recipe Hunt-My husband and I are trying to lose weight, become fit, and still maintain a pretty tight budget.  This means we need low-cost protein.  I have loved hunting.  I use Pinterest and Skinnytaste.com and my old school cookbooks!

Baking For Others-I made cookies for some friends; problem is that now I’m snowed in and they’re sitting in my kitchen forcing me to say no; I guess it’s a good test of will power!

Exercise-I’ve started a four minute, wake up morning exercise routine to jump-start my metabolism in the morning since I don’t work out until after work.

Read-I read a book that one of my students is reading; I wanted to be able to talk with her about it.  Check it out: Trafficked (young adult lit-don’t give it to a middle schooler).

Craft-When I finish writing, I’m going to do that Valentine’s Day craft, I’ve been meaning to get to.  I also talked to a friend yesterday, who enjoys scrapbooking.  That’s her thing.

Walk-I’m going for a walk in the snow.  If snows like this only happen every ten years, then I’m gonna go enjoy it!

Venture Out For A Walk

Venture Out For A Walk

Dog-I think I want one.  The money is part of what holds me back, but if you have the means, I really believe in the companionship they bring.

Documentaries-I love learning new things.  On my snow days, I have learned about the history of cookies and cereal.  I understand the process of Seaworld better and was horrified by it. (Blackfish)

Teacher Planning-Notice that this isn’t high on my list because I believe in breaks.  When I’m home, I like to be home, not at work.  That being said, I have done some work here.  Preparing for when I return.  Learning more about the subjects I teach (Broadcast Journalism and English 2).

Spirituality Time-I saved this for last because it’s one of the most meaningful.  What keeps me grounded when I feel alone is connecting with my Heavenly Father.  Reading His words and taking time to listen and feel His influence in my life.

photo 3 (5)

Wrapping it up! You may not have snow prints and little snowsuits to wash, but you can still enjoy your quiet time. You can accomplish much and feel satisfied knowing that you have done it.  There’s something empowering in exerting independence, even if it’s not always fun.  It can make you stronger.  That’s what I learned during my single days and what I remind myself now when I am alone.  The need for independence doesn’t end when you’re married.  So married or single, count the snowflakes and recognize your blessings.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.